Pjoc pararescue orientation

Started by 180185, December 21, 2016, 04:39:06 AM

I am new to cap and I don't know if you have to be 15 to take pjoc or like me I going to be 16 and I haven't been to encampment yet and that's one of the requirements. I am in good physical shape and could improve in time for the summer but can't make because of the cost and the time. So would have to take pjoc when I am 16 or go to AP pjoc. I am so confused and I am interested in the program. 😕😦⁉

Eclipse

Most of these questions, and the 100 more you likely have, are best answered by your local staff.

With that said, the website is pretty clear:
http://ncsas.com/index.cfm/pararescue_orientation_course?show=career_fair&careerFairID=3

You must be 15 years old by 15 July 2017.

You must have completed an encampment, which in your wing was in early June of 2016, and presumably would be around the same
time in 2017.
     http://encampment.azwg.org/
     http://www.facebook.com/AZWGEncampment
In order to attend an encampment, you must complete your first achievement (Curry), which should not be an issue in the time allotted.
There are also several encampments (Kansas, Kentucky, & Illinois) which have encampments in the Winter or Spring.

As PJOC is an NCSA, you must apply for it by 15 January 2017 - you will probably need you local staff to assist yo with that,
and since you will need their approval to go, there is little time to waste to discuss if this is realistic.  http://ncsas.com/

There is money called "CEAP" to assist with the expense of encampments for those in financial need:  https://www.capmembers.com/cadet_programs/activities/ceap/
Again, you will need your Commander's assistance and approval for this.

There are also various scholarships available, with an application deadline of 31 Dec 2016:
https://www.capmembers.com/cadet_programs/scholarships/  Same rules apply about help and approval.