Main Menu

Dues Letter

Started by williamcabot, May 18, 2007, 10:21:55 PM

williamcabot

Hi All,

I am a new Finance Officer for my Squadron.  One of my duties is to send out a letter requesting Squadron dues, renewal, etc.

Does anyone have an example letter that they send out to their members (both cadet and senior) that I can copy?

Thanks for all your help.

SM David Saavedra
San Diego Cadet Squadron 144
C/SMSgt Douglas S. Saavedra
Alpha Flight Commander
U.S. Air Force Auxiliary (CAP)

MIKE

My unit prints up a simple Account Statement similar to what you would get from a bank.  Unfortunately I don't have a template available.
Mike Johnston

Eclipse

One piece of advice - "dues" are not usually tax deductible.

A "voluntary donation" to the Squadron generally is.

"That Others May Zoom"

DNall

dues are deductible. If it were dues for a country club that also did charity events from time to time, that would not be deductible. Fraternity dues for instance are deductible, while a house usage fee is not.

Eclipse

Quote from: give.org
Membership dues that merely cover the cost of privileges or benefits received by the "donor" are not deductible. However, "dues" that actually constitute a contribution for which the donor receives little or no privilege or benefit of monetary value in return are deductible.

IANAL, YMMV, CATA, etc...

But that's why I said "may".  Since our dues essentially cover operating expenses, the donor is receiving a direct benefit, and therefore they may not actually be deductible when defined and collected as such.

"That Others May Zoom"

SarDragon

I asked a tax professional who is also a member of CAP, and she said that squadron dues are deductible, much the same as a donation to a charity. Both are 501(c) corporations, and part of any donation ends up going for operating expenses.
Dave Bowles
Maj, CAP
AT1, USN Retired
50 Year Member
Mitchell Award (unnumbered)
C/WO, CAP, Ret

O-Rex

Did you get Wing Approval to levy Squadron dues??