Main Menu

SOS testing

Started by Wild Weasel, January 28, 2011, 04:49:32 PM

Wild Weasel

I am currently studying for the non-residence SOS and almost ready to test.  Does anyone have experience in ordering & taking SOS tests?  I believe there may be three separate tests for each unit of of the course.  Can I order & take all 3 exams at once, or does each test need to be ordered and taken consecutively?  Do I have the tests forwarded to my wing TCO shred code & then coordinate sitting for the tests with my squadron TCO? Or does testing require involving my wing CAP/USAF coordinator?

Any input from SOS-alumni would be appreciated.  Thank you, sirs and madams.
"If we maintain our faith in God, love of freedom, and superior global air power, the future looks good." — General Curtis Lemay

a2capt

The ones that are multiple tests are in succession.  You can't ask for all at once, as you are not entitled to take the next until you pass the prior.

I can't recall if SOS is one that now requires a military testing center or is still forwarded to the Wing TCO channel to you. The shred code you put on the application is a good start, though. If they accepted it, thats probably how it's going to work.

Phil Hirons, Jr.

AF Professional Military Education (PME) courses can only be done on paper at a Wing TCF as a last resort.  The SOS exams are primarily computer based and are taken at a TCF with the proper equipment.

From CAPR 54-10
5-8. AU A4/6 Supplied Non-CAP Tests Administration. CAP members enrolled in Air Force CDC or PME courses (i.e. Air Force career courses, Air War College, Air Command and Staff College, Squadron Officer School, Senior Noncommissioned Officer Academy, and Noncommissioned Officer Academy) must be administered exams by one of the following (in order of priority):