VHF radio post-programming checklist

Started by xyzzy, May 03, 2019, 01:26:19 PM

xyzzy

Does anyone have a checklist they use to test a VHF radio after it has been programmed with a CAP code plug? I'm a squadron communications officer and our wing commander has requested testing of radios. Any OPSEC issues can be handled by sending to my CAP email, gashton@vtcap.org.

When testing radios, to what extent do you test interoperability channels shared with other services, such as the marine channels or VCALL10, VTAC11, VTAC12, VTAC13 and VTAC14? I did contact Vermont Emergency Management and they had no problem with us testing the VCALL and VTAC channels as long as we deferred to other users and gave a courtesy call to state police dispatch before testing on VCALL10 (which they monitor).

Another recent thread sent the OP to the communications section from eServices. Be aware the degree of access one has depends on who you are. I don't know the exact mechanism for assigning permissions, but wing communications officers seem to have things that squadron communication officers can't see.

Brad

If you're testing radios at the squadron level, just do a basic function test on the repeater(s) your squadron can reach from where it's at. Also check the buttons to make sure they perform to specification, especially if it is a CAP-owned radio, which has to be programmed with the standard button plan. If you are unaware of it or don't have access to it via eServices, contact your Wing DC.
Brad Lee
Maj, CAP
Assistant Deputy Chief of Staff, Communications
Mid-Atlantic Region
K4RMN

xyzzy

@Brad, I devised my own form and did an extensive test on all CAP simplex channels, as well as VCALL10 and VTAC11 through VTAC14. We did find some issues and are arranging for reprogramming. Didn't test repeaters because they are out of range.

SarDragon