Kushigs syndrome

Started by manfredvonrichthofen, April 16, 2012, 08:16:47 PM

manfredvonrichthofen

Ok so I have been lookin for this all day, and I just can't seem to find it in my textbook, and my exam tomorrow is on trauma and OB emergencies so I just don't see the correlation to what I am able to find online. What I am finding is that Kushings is related to cortisol in the boy. Any EMTs or Paramedics able to give me a hand?

Al Sayre

Try Cushings Syndrome, Wikipedia has a rather lenghty description with references...
Lt Col Al Sayre
MS Wing Staff Dude
Admiral, Great Navy of the State of Nebraska
GRW #2787

manfredvonrichthofen

Thank you, i found that earlier, However, I am still having issues figuring out how it relates to trauma.

capmedic

You are thinking of cushing reflex and is related to ICP.

Al Sayre

I'm not a doctor, I don't play one on tv, and I didn't even stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, but my first guess would that since corticosteroids are frequently given to reduce inflammation and people often purchase and use OTC topical corticosteroid ointments etc, that they may be contra-indicated in the case of trauma, (especially things like road rash and other abrasive injuries) where there is a likelyhood of secondary infection due to lowered immune response, and according to my understanding of the article, may result in Cushings Syndrome.  As I said I'm no expert, but I'd pick either that or C as my final answer. 
Lt Col Al Sayre
MS Wing Staff Dude
Admiral, Great Navy of the State of Nebraska
GRW #2787

manfredvonrichthofen

Can you elaborate? I can't find cushings reflex at all in my textbook.

capmedic

In a head injury, with increase intracranial pressure, you may experience a patient who is having a cushing reflex.  This would display the following signs and symptoms:

decreased loc
increased systolic bp
widening pulse pressure
bradycardia
irregular respirations or apnea

most patients will die.

manfredvonrichthofen