Requirements to be a CAP Pilot

Started by simon, April 24, 2008, 06:29:19 PM

simon

I am interested in a CAP pilot's opinion about the likely progression and timeframe that I would be following to become a CAP pilot.

My principal area of interest is to fly Search and Rescue missions, although I would still be happy to fly as a pilot on other missions.

Re my background, I am a new pilot, so I am wondering with the minimum experience requirements whether SAR is 1 year, 2 years off etc. I learnt to fly last year out of Palo Alto, CA, in a Citabria. Since then I have acquired my complex and high performance endorsements and I have been flying an Arrow, V-Tail Bonanza, Super Decathlon (For aerobatics) and I still have a soft spot for the Citabria. I have done a little Sierra flying as well. South Lake Tahoe etc. I have 160TT and 80PIC and appreciate that in pilot experience terms I really am in the low time category.

I went to a CAP meeting at Palo Alto a couple of weeks ago (A composite group there with a 182) and also went to a Reid-Hillview meeting (Seniors group with a 206) and found everybody very welcoming.

What is the likely progression for me to get into SAR? Is it:

1) Get a few more PIC hours to get me to 100, sit the tests, do a checkout and be entitled to fly the aircraft as a transport pilot.
2) Fly for another year, become a) An observer, then b) A scanner, learn about SAR as I go, then become qualified as a mission pilot once I get to 175 hours PIC. At that point I can do ELT missions.
3) Keep going, study the pilot requirements for SAR, sit the tests, get to 200 PIC at which point I am qualified on paper to be a SAR pilot.