Thoughts on building time

Started by Flying Pig, January 31, 2008, 05:49:48 AM

Flying Pig

My Examiner asked me during my Commercial check ride, "When you hit the 1000 hour mark, ask yourself honestly, do I have 1000 hours, or 1 hr. 1000 times."
I didn't think much of it at the time, but it has stuck with me.  Am I continually learning every time I fly, or is every hour just like the last one.  I just broke the 300 hr mark, so I am still learning every time I go, especially with my Mission Pilot qual just completed.  I am dying to get into a Mountain Course now.

RogueLeader

That's an interesting question. . . .
I do believe that there is always something new to learn, even in the repetitions of every day activities.
I get back to you.
WYWG DP

GRW 3340

SJFedor

Hmm...interesting philosophy. Makes you think...

My own personal belief is that, every time I'm in the aircraft, I should learn, or at least reinforce something that was learned, every time. Before I crank, I usually think about something I haven't done in a while.

Now that I've conquered the almightly GA-8, I'm too dying to get into an MFC. I believe we're planning to do one here in TN sometime this spring.

But without the sad results of the last one they did here  :-[

Steven Fedor, NREMT-P
Master Ambulance Driver
Former Capt, MP, MCPE, MO, MS, GTL, and various other 3-and-4 letter combinations
NESA MAS Instructor, 2008-2010 (#479)

bosshawk

Rob(and others): I happen to have been involved in the development of a Mountain Training Course here in CA and am one of the designated instructors.  At least in CA, all it takes to get into a Mt Flying Course is to persuade someone to be the project officer, set up a weekend, invite at least six Mission Pilots to come with corporate aircraft and contact the Wing Mt Flying Chief Instructor.  Our course takes about six hours to complete the ground portion and then two flights of about two hours each with one of the designated instructors.