Model rocketry Redstone phase, alternate supplies

Started by UH60guy, January 17, 2013, 03:47:03 PM

UH60guy

I have a question if anyone else out there has recent experience with the model rocketry program.

I'm a new AE officer and have never seen the model rocketry program run before, but I'm figuring it out as we go along with the resources online.

We're working through the Redstone phase right now, and have done the written test and sent the cadets home with the supplies to make Goddard rockets and bring back in two weeks.

In preparation for their liquid fueled rockets, I've hit a snag procuring supplies. We're planning on having the cadets build the fizzy flyers- however the instructions call for a 35mm film canister. I'm not sure when the last time the handbook was updated, but they're not exactly as common as they used to be now that everyone has a digital camera on their phone.

Has anyone had any success with alternate supplies? Any recommendations of a good replacement?
Maj Ken Ward
VAWG Internal AEO

johnnyb47

Capt
Information Technology Officer
Communications Officer

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Thrashed

Save the triangle thingy

NC Hokie

Quote from: Thrashed on January 17, 2013, 04:22:33 PM
I heard Walmart will give them away. Just ask.

Any place that develops film, really - the trick is getting them before they're thrown away.
NC Hokie, Lt Col, CAP

Graduated Squadron Commander
All Around Good Guy

a2capt

I have gone in and asked at a couple Wal*Mart's in the past, and even Costco, though film process isn't as popular as it used to be... most Costco locations don't put that thing that says "LEAVE FILM HERE" outside the door anymore.

foffui1

I went to Wal-greens. I was told any place that develops photos should have them. Also as a side note. I was told that Lowe's will sometimes donate materials to our organization.

wiking18