CAP Officer...nothing more, nothing less and DoD Stickers/Base Access

Started by Major Carrales, April 09, 2007, 07:44:53 PM

Major Carrales

I am a CAP Officer, nothing more...nothing less.

posted from http://www.afblues.com/index.php?page=today-s-comic

Be more proud of what you are than ashamed of what you are not. 

I have no illusions of being an "Air Force Officer."  I respect and am proud of our auxiliary/Auxiliary status.  We often suffer from identify issues...mostly because we try to measure our efforts with rulers and sliderules of other organizations.  While I think it is every CAP Officer's duty to strive to reach and surpass those benchmarks...ours is a call to be "citizens" in the employ of our nation for our kind of service.

I make it my goal to make our gray shoulder marks relfect a Civil Air Patrol that is service to our Nation's Air Force, Community, State and Nation.

That should not make us "inferior" or prepetuate any cause for shame...be it "self inflicted" or from the Armed Services.  We are what we are...and we should be the best at it.

I hope no USAF officers are "offended" by CAP rank, if so that is miss-placed anxiety.  CAP Officers and their rank are only just that.  Apples and oranges.

Just a reflection on the above cartoon from a non-prior service person who greatly respects all those who serve and have served our Nation in the military. 

"We have been given the power to change CAP, let's keep the momentum going!"

Major Joe Ely "Sparky" Carrales, CAP
Commander
Coastal Bend Cadet Squadron
SWR-TX-454

ColonelJack

Frankly, I hope the Marine whups the tar out of the wise(butt) AF looie.  Sheesh ...

Jack
Jack Bagley, Ed. D.
Lt. Col., CAP (now inactive)
Gill Robb Wilson Award No. 1366, 29 Nov 1991
Admiral, Great Navy of the State of Nebraska
Honorary Admiral, Navy of the Republic of Molossia

SAR-EMT1

C. A. Edgar
AUX USCG Flotilla 8-8
Former CC / GLR-IL-328
Firefighter, Paramedic, Grad Student

dwb