Civil Air Patrol Leave Act - Illinois

Started by xray328, September 22, 2015, 04:22:45 PM

xray328

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=2991&ChapterID=68

I find this a bit odd.  It states that the employer (with 50+ employees) is required to give up to 30 days unpaid leave to CAP members on missions.  It goes on to say that the employee should give 14 days notice.  When do we get 14 days notice for SAR missons?  Or is the word "mission" here being used loosely?  And if so what does a "mission" cover?  Training for instance?

I'm new to all this so forgive my ignorance in advance, thanks.

TheSkyHornet

A general summary of that piece of legislation....

Employers who have between 15 and 50 employees must provide up to 15 days of unpaid leave to Civil Air Patrol members out of the office due to missions. Employers who have more than 50 employees must provide up to 30 days of unpaid leave to Civil Air Patrol members out of the office due to missions.

Civil Air Patrol members must give at least 14 days notice if they are to be out of the office for 5 or more consecutive days. For leave of less than 5 consecutive days, advanced notice should be given as practical. Employers hold the right to request verification/certification as evidence to support approving leave.

Leave for Civil Air Patrol duties shall not be considered part of the employee's vacation or sick time nor any other leave the employer may grant. Employee benefits shall not be infringed upon due to Civil Air Patrol leave. Employees shall not be subjected to any punishment for taking Civil Air Patrol leaves of absence  under these rules.

Missions would be those defined by Civil Air Patrol.