New to CAP - Question About Rank

Started by Twolf, November 19, 2005, 09:06:11 PM

Twolf

Hello All,
   I am a soldier in the Minnesota Army National Guard and was looking into getting involved with some sort of youth organization. I looked into many organizations and almost choose the Boy Scouts until I found the Civil Air Patrol. I really didn't know anything about CAP so I started out just showing up as much as I could because my job keeps me quite busy. A year later I realized that I had never missed a meeting and had really come to love the program and greatly enjoy my time with the kids. Last month I paid my $72 and am now officially a member of the Civil Air Patrol. I have many questions about CAP (like why, when doing an open ranks, the CAP moves the entire formation forward causing the commander to have to move), but my biggest question deals with rank.
   The position my Sq wants me to take is basically in charge of operations for our sq. Figuring out training schedules and fun, exciting things for the cadets to do and stuff like that. The senior member that had this position before me was a 1LT - so logic would tell me that I should go into the officer corps. But the thing is that I don't WANT to be an officer. I'm an NCO - Trainer of Soldiers and Maker of Men. I'm the type of person that wants to be down in the dirt right along side of my men, not behind a desk blindly making policies and plans. Secondly, I find it almost offensive for me to be an officer. I haven't earned that right so it would seem fake to me. So which rank should I go with? Should I stay in the NCO Corps or should I become a 2LT? What are the differences in the CAP?
   In addition to my responsibilities at my sq, I'd like to get involved in Wing activities. BCOC, EPS, and all that fun stuff. Will my status as an NCO prevent me from getting involved? Will it affect what I will be able to do?