What grade insignia do I need?

Started by vandy, May 27, 2005, 05:15:11 AM

vandy

Hello. I'm in the process of buying my uniform, and I'm unclear on grade insignia for those of us coming in as specialty members. My understanding is that chaplains start as 1LT or Captain, I'm not sure which. Also, I've heard that once we join we need to wear no grade until everything is officially processed for the chaplaincy. Is this correct?

pixelwonk

Since I don't know your level of Divinity education, I can't tell you what you'd come in as.  just hold off until you know because I'd bet your squadron would have the grade insignia anyway.  For now, you will wear CAP cutouts on your collar.

vandy

Hi Tedda,
I have a masters, and I'm in a doctoral program now. I'm fully endorsed. I'm just doing a uniform order, and need to know.

pixelwonk

Quote from: vandy on May 27, 2005, 06:42:49 AM
Hi Tedda,
I have a masters, and I'm in a doctoral program now. I'm fully endorsed. I'm just doing a uniform order, and need to know.

Quote from: CAPR: 35-5
a. Chaplains. Concurrent with appointment as chaplain in CAP, chaplains may be appointed to the grade of first lieutenant. Requirements for appointment as CAP chaplains are outlined in CAPR 265-1, The CAP Chaplain Program.

vandy

Hi Tedda,
Thanks. But, this one says CPT: level2.cap.gov/documents/u_082503131431.pdf

I don't know which it is.

Major_Chuck

Chaplain appointments and promotions actually follow a different process.  Check with your Wing Chaplain for the details would be my suggestion.

-Chuck
Chuck Cranford
SGT, TNCO VA OCS
Virginia Army National Guard

pixelwonk

Quote from: Major_Chuck on May 27, 2005, 02:48:50 PM
Chaplain appointments and promotions actually follow a different process. Check with your Wing Chaplain for the details would be my suggestion.

-Chuck

yeah, what he said

BillB