Saw CAP encampment while doing National Guard stuff

Started by flyguy06, June 26, 2009, 02:55:29 PM

flyguy06

What a small world. last week, I was at Ft McClellan, AL in Anniston. I am a National Guard officer and was being a TAC officer at the National guard Accelerated OCS program.

As I was checking in, I noticed the barracks down the street a few familiar looking white vans. iwent to investigate and sure enough theyhad that familiar CAP emblem onit. The AL/MSWG joint summer encamoment was also being held there the same week.

In fact, they ate in the same DFAC we did so I saw them everyday. It was interesting seeing two very important parts of my life in the same setting. i am sure the cadets loved seing us TAC the Officer candidates. Can saythe other way around though.

Funny story. At OCS, we make the candidates go trhough DFAC procedures which is basically a series of pull ups, sit ups and push ups. While doing this they must recite various things such as the 5 paragraghs in an OPORD, the 8 troop leading procedures and soforth. if they get it wrong, they earn an express trip to the sand pit where they pratice their low crawling skils until they get the required information correct.

Anyway, we were doing this oneday and here come the CAP cadets. Iguess intheir mind they wanted to help. They began chanting "fired up OC's, fired up" There intent was to motivate the Candidates. And i am sure it did, however it was pissing us (the TAC Officers) off. Not because of the cadrs, but becaue the CAP cadets were actually sounding off louder than the adult officer candidates. So, that made us (the TACS) turn the hea tup even more on the candidates.
Ihad a blast and I was glad the CAP cadets were there. Maybe I will volunteer for that encampment next summer and intorduce them to the sand pit  ;D

Nolan Teel

Many years ago I went to the ALWG Encampment as Staff at Ft. McClellan.  Ironically that was a base I lived on growing up since my dad was stationed there.