Scanners, DF'ers and Vehicle Magmount Antennas

Started by afgeo4, May 30, 2006, 02:27:10 AM

afgeo4

So my group doesn't have any ES equipment of its own (the members all have personal equipment) and the CC has finally had it with that.  I've been tasked with finding 2 to 4 DF units and 2 vehicle antennas I could hook them up to.  I'm new at this stuff.  Could you guys help me out with finding the right stuff for the job?

I know people use the Radio Shack scanners, but which ones?  Which antennas to go with them?  Is there anything better?  What freqs should they be programmed for?  Is it worth it to find something that'll scan 406.00 MHz or just stick to 121.50, 121.75, and 243.00?

Please help!
GEORGE LURYE

Eclipse

You should speak to your local comm officer(s) or other qual'ed ES types.

Hand-held scanners are ok for intial signal aquisition, but won't DF in a car
(and don't DF well on foot, either).

A new L-Per goes about $1000.00 for a hand-carried one, I can't imagine what a vehicle mounted one like a Becker would cost.

"That Others May Zoom"

Matt

Last Figure I heard was $750 for the NEW Little-Lper which isn't too bad... Played with one last weekend at a ground school.  Basically AB Radio with set channels.

Roof Antennas, I believe are $125 per set.

http://ltronics.com would be the place to check for new equip.

I'd recommend staying with AB for the time being.  If you have been allotted enough money, well more is always better (in this case) and go for the 406!
<a href=mailto:mkopp@ncr.cap.gov> Matthew Kopp</a>, Maj, CAP
Director of Information Technology
<a href=https://www.ncrcap.us.org> North Central Region</a>

Eclipse

OK, I'll go with $750 - based on the quantity above, that's still a lot of coin for a unit that doesn't even have ONE today.

What do you need more than one for?  My unit is as active as any in the area 2-3 ELT's a month, and we get by fine with one. In ILWG, most units have one E-Pler and