Main Menu

Incident w/Police

Started by ♠SARKID♠, February 29, 2008, 06:48:12 AM

♠SARKID♠

I know we have a few police here, so let me pose this question.  Why is it that whenever I encounter a police officer, they refuse to communicate with me?  I ask this because of an incident at work today.  I'm a manager at a Piggly Wiggly.  About 15 minutes before closing, two squad cars park themselves right in front of our building, lights flashing.  As manager in charge, I walked outside to try and find out why they were there.  As far as I could tell we weren't being robbed, and if we were, the thieves were being dang subtle about it.

I stood outside the door, about 5 feet from the front squad, and stared at the officer inside.  After he noticed me, he just kept on doing what he was doing inside the car.  Now don't get me wrong, I completely understand that an officer has plenty of things to do on a stop that require his/her attention.  My step-mom is a retired officer and I've heard the ins and outs of what goes on.  But why can't the officer just crack the window, let me know why I have two squads parked in front of my store, and then go back to what he was doing?  I deduced later that it was a traffic stop, and the person pulled into our lot.

But I think that they owe me an explanation as to what was going on.  Did our security alarm go off?  Did a customer call 911 and I not know about it?
I would have been perfectly happy with "just a traffic stop, nothing to worry about."  "Okay, thanks officer."
Instead he was oblivious to me.  This isn't an isolated case either.  Any time that I've tried to get a sitrep that I deserve I get the same treatment.

Its no secret that a lot of people don't like the police (I do, its in the family, and I greatly appreciate what they do).  Perhaps some of that dislike comes from the attitudes that people receive from them.  I fully understand that professionalism and presence is key, but something like this is just rude.