Parents of Cadets

Started by c/LTCOLorbust, November 04, 2008, 07:07:33 PM

c/LTCOLorbust

Hello all, I'm a leadership officer at my SQ and the DC and I are looking at starting some kind of program to keep the parents in our SQ more informed. Due to our SQ having so many young cadets, we are finding that more the half the cadets in our SQ don't drive them self or plan their own week or months themselfs.

We are wanting to do a newsletter and quarterly parents meeting.

If anyone has a program that your SQ uses or has used, I would like to see how other SQs have done things.

Both the DC and I don't have the time to re-invent the wheel

Thanks
1Lt. Joshua M. Bergland
Yakima Composite SQ.
WA Wing

Pylon

Actually, when I had a more robust CP staff, we did parent-staff conferences (but not all on the same night).  We'd ask the parent(s) of one cadet to come about 30 to 45 minutes before the end of our meeting and sit down with them.  We'd share with them their child's progress in the program, where they can go from there and also gave them a chance to ask us questions and find out information.

I found them extremely helpful.  I learned new things about some of the cadets in our squadron and got a much better sense of how to deal with certain cadets.  The parents also seemed to gain a much clearer picture of what it is their son or daughter does every Wednesday night, and what they should expect their child to be doing between meetings.

Even if you explain the expectations to the parents when they first join (cadet should be prepping and caring for their uniform, studying for their next achievement tests, exercising, etc.) it's a good reminder to have once or twice a year.  It was easy to just do one parent per week, and slowly work our way through the active cadets; i imagine this approach wouldn't work in a very large squadron in the same way.