Being a Squadron Commander (pros and cons)

Started by afgeo4, January 05, 2008, 09:06:12 AM

afgeo4

As my Time In Service creeps up to the 6 year mark I start thinking that one of these days I will have to stand up and take command of a unit. I have completed level 2 and am almost done with my senior rating in Cadet Programs and technician's rating in Senior Programs. I have been a decent staff officer (I think anyway) on squadron and group levels and I think it's time I started to think about moving forward.

I know many of you have been or are currently unit commanders. What's your advice to someone in my position? I'd like to hear both positive and negative feedback please so as to prepare myself best. Just FYI, although I have completed the SLS, AFIADL-13, CLC, and TLC, I have not done the UCC yet.
GEORGE LURYE

JAFO78

I kind of fell into being a commander. I was Deputy first. The unit CDR made me his deputy as I had experience from being an officer in Navy JROTC in high school, that and we only had a hand full of active seniors. 5 or 6. We were a cadet squadron, with something like 20 seniors on the roster. You get the idea.

About 18 months later the Commander decided he was stepping down and moving on.
JAFO

Stonewall

You know, some people can complete every PD course up to the Wilson and still not be fit for command.  And someone fit to command a senior squadron may not be the same person qualified to command a composite or cadet squadron.

To me, you could have a fresh new CAP member with just 2 years in that could do better than a 10 year veteran with all the PD boxes checked.