Squadron Goals

Started by Eaker Guy, May 14, 2015, 12:14:41 PM

Eaker Guy

Hello all,

I have recently been appointed cadet commander(deputy for two years) at a composite squadron with about 30 cadets, seven of those as line staff. It's been a while since we've had the number of cadets that we do, which is great. Most the the cadets are new, with only a month or two experience behind them.

However, I'm new to the goal setting process, as there wasn't much need to set goals the past two years. I've read, re-read, and re-re-read the Cadet Staff handbook and CAPR 52-16, and it tells me a lot about how to set goals, but not what goals to set.

I've already contacted my DCC and asked for her assistance. We will be having a meeting fairly soon. However, I'm very much interested in getting multiple opinions, and any or all comments are helpful. If you need additional information about the squadron, please feel free to ask.

Thank you very much,

C//Maj Kiss

BFreemanMA

C/Maj Kiss,

First (and most importantly) congratulations on your appointment as cadet commander! I was recently appointed squadron commander of my own unit and have had a lot of first-hand experience with your situation.

It looks like you understand the 'hows' of setting a goal (SMART goals and whatnot), but, as cadet commander, your goals are your own to set. This can be a bit daunting as, like you said, the regs go at length about HOW to set goals, but not what good goals should be. However, I recommend the following process. It worked well for me.

1. Plan backwards.