Main Menu

Safety SWOT Analysis

Started by James Shaw, July 09, 2013, 11:43:06 AM

James Shaw

As a Safety Professional I am always looking for ways to improve or maintain a robust safety program. One of the best and simplest tools to use is a SWOT Analysis. The SWOT Analysis (Strengths/Weaknesses/Opportunities/Threats), can provide great information and feedback from those members and others who are part of the safety system.

I would like to get some feedback about the CAP Safety Program from the field. There are a few things to remember when doing this:

1)This is about the Program and not the people involved. Do not put anyone's name in your comments please.
2)This is your opinion and not someone elses work. Please put your feedback only.
3)Be professional about it, even if you have strong disdain make sure you are civil.

Please follow the format below so I can use the information presented.
A)CAP Safety Program Strengths
B)CAP Safety Program Weaknesses
C)CAP Safety Program Opportunities
D)CAP Safety Program Threats

Additional input you can provide as well.
A)Is safety only important on paper to check the box and move on?
B)People tout safety as important but do we really behave in that manner?
C)We have very few Mission Safety Officers overall. Why is that?
D)Is the Safety Recognition program effective?
E)Is the Safety Officer training effective?
F)What is your opinion of the Annual Safety Survey?
G)Is safety inconvenient?
H)What can we do to get more safety officers?

Just for thought......would you put your loved ones in harms way because safety can be inconvenient?

As a Safety Professional I have done my own SWOT and want to see if others have the same or similar thoughts. This is not about the individuals that may be involved but about the process overall. That is the most important thing to remember about this inquiry.

If you do not wish to make your comments and thoughts public you can PM them to me and they will stay confidential.