Teaching Drill & Ceremony

Started by CAPDCCMOM, May 14, 2015, 06:22:23 PM

CAPDCCMOM

As a newbie, I am some what confused ???. Back when I was in NJROTC, when dinosaurs roamed the Earth, we were taught to use clear language when calling Drill. We actually lost points, in competition and for promotion requirements, if we did not. Now, I am hearing much strange grunting and strange new words, like harch, huah. Once again I realize it has been many moons since I taught, and was taught Drill, but is this correct. It sounds, to me, like some people have watched "Full Metal Jacket" one time too many.

In short what is correct for Drill & Ceremony?  ??? The Air Force Drill Manual says proper language.

coudano

Air Force drill also counts cadence as hup two three four, not left, right, left, right, and we don't sing the cadence, either ;)   --although i have heard some pretty catchy ditty's coming from navy folks singing cadence as they march by, heh.

As you alluded, the correct answer is AFMAN 36-2203
http://www.capmembers.com/media/cms/afman3622031_7A853B1DF6091.pdf

The voice characteristics (LPDISC is how I remember them) are spelled out in 2.3
Loudness
Projection
Distinctiness
Inflection
Snap
(2.4) Cadence

Things like 'harch' and 'harms' you fill find on Figure 2.2

**Imho the H is almost silent though, it's there because it's hard to do distinctness, inflection, and snap with syllables like M and R.  But it's not garlic breath hhhhhhhhharch.   More like a gutteral tight start to "arch".

But yeah, people (and cadets in particular) watch a lot of tv and movies, as well as mimicking what they saw at encampment (from a cadet who also watches a lot of tv and movies and mimicks what THEY saw at encampment) and so on...   So some nonsense tends to spread over time.

lordmonar

The drill manual has clear instructions on how the commands are to be called.

Grunts and barks....are not proper drill commands.   But they sneak in to the lexicon all the time.