Does anyone use Flight Simulator X? How about using for radio proficiency?

Started by alpacapilot, August 06, 2009, 01:42:23 AM

alpacapilot

I am a new pilot.  Still with a bit of mic fright.  I've used FSX's multiplayer option to join others on the internet and fly around with a tower contoller guiding the way.  This is great practice for me and helps me tune my mic skills.

It would be really great if us CAP folks could set up a standard time to host a multiplayer session (controller person need) to hone our communication skils.  Anyone interested?

DC

Not really related to your question, but have you seen AOPA's new interactive comms course, Say it Right.

It's pretty informative.

alpacapilot

Yes its great.  Completed it last week.  Now I want to put it to work  ;)

SJFedor

Try VATSIM. Their controllers actually go through training on proper phraseology and procedures, unlike some on the MS FSX multiplayer rooms. Plus there are many controllers controlling different areas, requiring you to actually talk to more than one person depending on what you're doing.

www.vatsim.net

Steven Fedor, NREMT-P
Master Ambulance Driver
Former Capt, MP, MCPE, MO, MS, GTL, and various other 3-and-4 letter combinations
NESA MAS Instructor, 2008-2010 (#479)

N Harmon

Quote from: SJFedor on August 06, 2009, 05:35:01 AM
Try VATSIM. Their controllers actually go through training on proper phraseology and procedures, unlike some on the MS FSX multiplayer rooms. Plus there are many controllers controlling different areas, requiring you to actually talk to more than one person depending on what you're doing.

www.vatsim.net

+2

You may need to spend some time getting the software installed and set up, but it's free and very realistic.
NATHAN A. HARMON, Capt, CAP
Monroe Composite Squadron

jeancalvinus