Main Menu

Soon to be new member

Started by sub1284, August 30, 2013, 05:23:54 AM

sub1284

Ive been checking out this site for a few days now and thought I would introduce myself. I am a new applicant, put in my application last week. I have had an interest in CAP since high school but never joined. I was in AJROTC at the time. I have always had a love for aviation and its great to be getting involved. I currently work as an EMT and I hope to utilize my experience in emergency services with CAP. Cya around the forums!

johnnyb47

Capt
Information Technology Officer
Communications Officer

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Luis R. Ramos

Welcome!

However there is a caveat. Do not want you to get frustrated beforehand, but your experience as an EMT will not help. CAP is not an agency that gives healthcare beyond first aid. In other words, it should not go beyond what some people call "mommy care," or "putting a bandage on."

The reason seems to include the myriad differences in jurisdictions in which we operate; no medical malpractice insurance; and lack of medical oversight that paramedics and EMTs have even if that is remote.

You still may be able to work as a Health Services Officer providing education and checking health issues that may affect members of your unit, with one proviso: you are not to give health check-ups and anything you say has to be said without it appearing to be health advise.

Flyer
Squadron Safety Officer
Squadron Communication Officer
Squadron Emergency Services Officer

EMT-83

While you won't necessarily use your EMT skills for direct patient care, your emergency services experience will be helpful. Welcome aboard; enjoy yourself!

sub1284

I was more thinking I could train members in First Aid or something along those lines. Its not like I planned on starting IV's in the field or anything.

a2capt

I'm all for the Navy Medics, the EMTs, etc. being part of our units.