Mental Health of Safety Professionals

Started by James Shaw, December 13, 2022, 05:40:01 PM

James Shaw

After about a years worth of research, writing, peer reviews, and instructional design my first course has launched.

This is a Non-Clinical approach for safety professionals.

https://www.columbiasouthern.edu/online-degree/continuing-education/online-courses/safety/ce-1113-mental-health-of-safety-professionals/

Definitely worth sharing!
Jim Shaw
USN: 1987-1992
GANG: 1996-1998
CAP:2000 - SER-SO
USCGA:2019 - BC-TDI/National Safety Team
SGAUS: 2017 - MEMS Academy State Director (Iowa)

Pinecone

Hmm, I have been a professional in occupational health and safety for almost 40 years.

Never saw any mental health issues with people in the field.  Other than anger at management for not listening.

James Shaw

Quote from: Pinecone on January 13, 2023, 04:01:35 PMHmm, I have been a professional in occupational health and safety for almost 40 years.

Never saw any mental health issues with people in the field.  Other than anger at management for not listening.

I understand where your coming from.

Here is an article from a recent SH&E Publication.

https://www.safetyandhealthmagazine.com/articles/23265-workplace-stress-and-mental-health-osha-launches-webpage
Jim Shaw
USN: 1987-1992
GANG: 1996-1998
CAP:2000 - SER-SO
USCGA:2019 - BC-TDI/National Safety Team
SGAUS: 2017 - MEMS Academy State Director (Iowa)

etodd

If you are a First Responder. No matter how much management tells workers that its ok to seek professional help for mental health issues, if you do, 90% of the time you'll be out of a job soon. Its just the way it is. They have to internalize their issues to keep working. Leading to high rates of suicide. Its a huge problem with no easy answer. Departments will create these nice programs to make it appear they are working on it. But the bottom line stays the same. First responders know to keep quiet.
"Don't try to explain it, just bow your head