Main Menu

Thinking of joining CAP

Started by Nikos, June 28, 2011, 01:49:40 PM

Nikos

I am thinking of joining the CAP.  I was wondering what members think about their time in CAP?  I was a volunteer Firefighter for 12 years and I am looking of a new way of giving back to the community.  Any advice would be a big help in making my decision.  Thank you.

regards, Nikos

Thrashed

Experiences in CAP vary greatly. It can be a great organization and a really crappy one. It all depends on where you are and who is involved in it. It's all volunteer, so the local squadrons vary with the people in it. I finally gave up being frustrated with the idiots in CAP and did what I could to improve it. There are a lot of great people in CAP, but there are those others too. As a volunteer fireman, you've probably experienced the same issues. We have a few volunteer fireman in our squadron, its a great fit if you like search and rescue.

Go check out the local squadron, don't be in a hurry to join. Sit back and observe for awhile. If you don't like it, try another squadron, it might fit you better. They are all different.

Save the triangle thingy

Lancer

^^^^ A fairly accurate statement that I echo almost verbatim. Except for the Search and Rescue part. It's more like 'Search & Let Someone Else Rescue"

titanII

I'm echoing Thrash, but I think it's a point that needs to be stressed. Visit MULTIPLE squadrons. They can (and do) vary greatly. A lot of it is just randomness- the people, the facilities, the activities, etc. Find what works for YOU, and don't let people pressure you into joining a unit you don't really want to join.
No longer active on CAP talk

JeffDG

One other point...you'll get out of it what you put into it.

If you see CAP as a cheap flying club, you'll be forever frustrated by the paperwork and red tape that goes with flying. 

If, however, you commit to assisting in any way that you can, then it can be incredibly rewarding.