Practice ELT Beacon: Licensing

Started by wuzafuzz, May 07, 2013, 04:47:08 PM

wuzafuzz

I'm searching for info regarding licensing requirements for practice beacons on 121.775 MHz.  CAP is properly authorized via NTIA, but I'm trying to find answers for a local SAR team.  NTIA doesn't cover them.

A review of the CFR's (I'm no expert on those) suggests 121.775 MHz is not an authorized frequency for practice beacons.  See pertinent excerpts below:

Subpart Q--STATIONS IN THE RADIODETERMINATION SERVICE
Title 47
§ 87.475   Frequencies.
(d) Frequencies available for ELT test stations. The frequencies available for assignment to ELT test stations are 121.600, 121.650, 121.700, 121.750, 121.800, 121.850, and 121.900 MHz. Licensees must:
(1) Not cause harmful interference to voice communications on these frequencies or any harmonically related frequency.

(2) Coordinate with the appropriate FAA Regional Spectrum Management Office prior to each activation of the transmitter.

No mention of 121.775 MHz.

Title 47: Telecommunication
PART 87—AVIATION SERVICES
Subpart E—Frequencies
§ 87.173   Frequencies.
121.600-121.925 MHz   O, L, Q   MA, FAC, MOU, RLT, GCO, RCO, RPC   25 kHz channel spacing.

Although 25 kHz spacing can land someone on 121.775 MHz, none of the station types mentioned there would cover a SAR team.  Plus I would think the specific authorizations for ELT test stations in § 87.475 would take precedence over § 87.173.

So, CAP is legit on 121.775 MHz, but I don't see how non-federal users are legal there.  Does anyone else know more about this?  Hopefully someone here has been this route in the past.

I want to get good solid info for the local SAR team.
"You can't stop the signal, Mal."

bflynn

FCC - Part 87 of CFR 47:

Section 87.145  Acceptability of transmitters for licensing.

(a) Each transmitter must be certificated for use in these services, except as listed in
paragraph (c) of this section.