22 NOV, why else is it important?

Started by Stonewall, November 22, 2007, 07:28:25 PM

Stonewall

Anyone?  Anyone?  Didn't we lose a President on this day in 1963.
Serving since 1987.

SJFedor

Alex, I'll take former assassinated presidents for $200

Who is JFK?

Steven Fedor, NREMT-P
Master Ambulance Driver
Former Capt, MP, MCPE, MO, MS, GTL, and various other 3-and-4 letter combinations
NESA MAS Instructor, 2008-2010 (#479)

bosshawk

Yep: a sad day in the life of the good ole USA.  I was an Army Captain, leaning forward in a foxhole in Korea on that date.  Not really, I was assigned to G-2, Eighth Army, but we did go to DEFCON 2 because of the assassination.  Live TV did not exist in Korea in those days, so it was a day or two before we started getting tapes from US TV broadcasts.
Paul M. Reed
Col, USA(ret)
Former CAP Lt Col
Wilson #2777

flyguy06

JohnKachenmeister

I was a freshman in high school.  The rumors about the JFK were flying round the school, and my in 7th hour English class, the teacher asked if anyone had a transistor radio.  We were reluctant to admit to it, because such items were contraband.  But I figured if the teacher asked for it, we had dispensation for our sins, and I pulled it out.  That's how and when we confirmed the rumors.

Monday was a Day of Mourning, and what would have been my second CAP meeting was cancelled.
Another former CAP officer

ddelaney103

As the man said:

Gunnery Sergeant Hartman: [referring to Lee Harvey Oswald and mass murderer Charles Whitman] Do any of you people know where these individuals learned how to shoot?
    [Private Joker raises his hand.]
    Gunnery Sergeant Hartman: Private Joker?
    Private Joker: Sir, in the Marines, sir!
    Gunnery Sergeant Hartman: In the Marines! Outstanding! Those individuals showed what one motivated Marine and his rifle can do! And before you ladies leave my island, you will all be able to do the same thing!

MajorSER