Main Menu

Flight Lessons through CAP

Started by KirkF22, September 02, 2012, 03:11:52 PM

KirkF22

I had my first O ride yesterday and had the time of my life. We did about 10 parabolas. I've always wanted to be a pilot and take lessons, and my parents are finally going to let me. We are wondering if I should take lessons through CAP, preferably the Pilot I flew with yesterday, and he's a flight instructor. Or if I should take them from an actuall school. I understand that through CAP it is cheaper but it will take longer to get license. I'm in no rush, I'm a sophomore right now and would like to be soloing by my senior year. So what do you guys think I should do?

MajorM

Depends on your desired speed, but I've found that instruction through CAP tends to be more thorough and involved, though that also depends on your CFI.  Take the savings and use it to not "ram" through a course but learn all you can. 

Also, and this can depend a lot too, but generally the quality of the aircraft are better in CAP. 

Lastly, your squadron certainly can't hurt from having hours on their airplane.  We have six cadets in our flight training program and those six generate an important percentage of our annual usage requirements.

Eclipse

If you're going through CAP, your best bet will be one of the flight academies.

"That Others May Zoom"

KirkF22

If I take lessons through CAP. Am I in my BDU for all my lessons or civilian clothes? And for lessons do I sit in lef or right seat?

Garibaldi

Quote from: KirkF22 on September 02, 2012, 05:25:06 PM
If I take lessons through CAP. Am I in my BDU for all my lessons or civilian clothes? And for lessons do I sit in lef or right seat?

If you take lessons through CAP flight academies you will be in whatever uniform they specify for that school.
Still a major after all these years.
ES dude, leadership ossifer, publik affaires
Opinionated and wrong 99% of the time about all things

Eclipse