Interested in Joining CAP

Started by resqccemt, April 25, 2012, 06:49:18 PM

resqccemt

I have been checking out the message boards  and researching CAP manuals for a while. I have 19 years of experience working in fire, ems, and emergency services including technical rescue and SAR. At this point in my life I would like to get back into volunteering and giving back  and grateful for what my career has given me. Current job requirements keep me on the go  but I can make time for CAP. The history and missions of this organization are incredible. I want to make the commitment, but I am reluctant because all of the negative posts about politics and  uniforms( I have my own opinion).. Every organization has gripes .... that is how it is.. I would like to hear from some seasoned senior members and what drives them. My interests are using my skills that I have accrued to benefit CAP. If  I joined it would be a second career...

johnnyb47

Welcome to the forums!
I would suggest that you find and visit a couple of local squadrons to see what they are all about and to make sure you are a good fit for eachother.
I found our squadron 2 years ago after visiting with 2 other locals and found this one to be exactly what I was looking for and they needed exactly what I had to offer.
Once you have a "job" and some of the training and direction you need to get going you can find yourself VERY happy at the squadron level for a very long time.
Most of the politics talk you read is up the chain a bit. As long as you can avoid getting suckered into a Wing you'll avoid/be oblivious to most of it. :)

Good luck finding a home! Feel free to ask if you ever need any "how do I, where do I" type questions answered.
Capt
Information Technology Officer
Communications Officer

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

vento