Need opinion on form 5 check ride experience

Started by alpacapilot, May 21, 2009, 02:13:31 AM

alpacapilot

I am a new pilot (65 hours) and new to CAP.  After two proficiency flights I was recommended by my squadron commander for a form 5 check ride.  Conveniently we had a National Check Pilot Standardization Course scheduled in our wing and on the last day the check pilots would be available to give check rides.  My squadron commander recommended I take advantage of it since it would be funded.  I agreed and prepared as much as I could.

I was instructed to take the online exam, complete the aircraft questionnaire and bring the form 5 to the meet.  To complete the aircraft questionnaire I needed the POH and I didn't have access to one.  So I filled out what I could and left the rest to fill out when I got to the meet.  When I arrived my squadron commander happily helped me obtain the POH and I went to work.  About 15-20 minutes later I was being rushed to finish my questionnaire by the check pilot from another squadron because he was waiting on me.  I finished as quickly as I could and we started the oral.

Now I try to pay attention to instructions so help me out here if I missed something but on the form 5 instruction page it says to bring the following:

The applicant for a CAPF 5 check ride should bring the following materials for review by the check pilot:
1. Pilot Log Book(s) showing evidence of flight review or other required currency/endorsements.
2. FAA certificates and medical.
3. Proof of CAP membership.
4. Blank CAPF 5 (instruction page is optional).
5. Completed AC questionnaire(s) as required by CAPR 60-1.
6. Annual CAPF 5 online written exam results.