Misdemeanor effect on application?

Started by Wolfhound63, February 26, 2014, 04:12:16 AM

Wolfhound63

Hello
I hope to get some feedback on my prospects for being accepted as a senior member of CAP.
I am an army Iraq vet, received the army Combat Infantry Badge and was discharged honorably. However 14 years ago I was arrested and charged with soliciting a prostitute by Los Angeles police. The charge was bogus and I was only convicted of trespassing. Later I had the conviction expunged. This means there is no longer a conviction but officially a dismissal of the charges; however the FBI check shows the charge in addition to the trespassing conviction and later disposition of dismissal.
This is the only record I have on my FBI rap sheet but the charge alone makes the rap sheet sound worse than it is. Will the charge without any conviction prevent me being accepted into CAP because of alleged moral turpitude that wasn't even proven?
Any feedback will be appreciated because I don't want to waste my time trying to join if this will clearly prevent it.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Thank you very much,
Wolfhound

MSG Mac

When it shows up National will contact you (no one else) and ask for your version of the arrest. They handle it on a case to case basis. be honest and do answer the inquiry, If you don't respond they will deny the membership. 
Michael P. McEleney
Lt Col CAP
MSG USA (Retired)
50 Year Member

Panache

Pretty much what MSG Mac said, but honestly if the conviction was expunged I wouldn't worry about it.  Even if it wasn't, I don't think a 14-year-old trespassing charge would disqualify you.

LSThiker