Advanced Promotion in the Military

Started by M.Glisson003, February 04, 2008, 04:41:08 AM

M.Glisson003

When I graduated from OS-V (Washington Wing Winter Encampment) as the Honor Cadet of the encampment I was told that I can recieve an advanced promotion in the military for that achievement.

Is this really true?

I mean, I joined the Marine Corps awhile ago and right now I am E-2. I got that from having almost 4 years in JROTC.

So could I get promoted to E-3 because of encampment?
Michael Glisson, C/CMSgt, CAP
McChord Composite Squadron

Eclipse

No. 

RealMilitary® eligibility for advanced grade based on the CAP cadet program is dependant on achievement of the Mitchel Award (c/2d Lt).

For the USAF, the highest bump you'll get is E-3, in the Army and Navy (as I understand), they may bump you to E-2.  The Marines do not currently recognize the Mitchell, specifically, for advanced grade, however they may confer some level of bump based on your participation in a "cadet style program".

All of this, however, is negotiated before entrance and conferred upon graduation from BMT, if you're already past that point, the boat has sailed.

"That Others May Zoom"

stillamarine

Many Many Years Ago WIWAR (when I was a recruiter) you only could enlist in the Corps no higher than an E-2.  The trick is, to enter into Recruit Training as an E-2 as you are now, and be the best that you can and get a meritorious promotion to E-3. Though rare.
Tim Gardiner, 1st LT, CAP

USMC AD 1996-2001
USMCR    2001-2005  Admiral, Great State of Nebraska Navy  MS, MO, UDF
tim.gardiner@gmail.com

M.Glisson003

How does one get meritoriously promoted in boot camp?
Michael Glisson, C/CMSgt, CAP
McChord Composite Squadron

Eclipse

And just to quote regs for fun:

Quote from: CAPR 52-16, Section 2-6, g6 http://level2.cap.gov/documents/u_082503073142.pdf