View of CAP from the uninformed?

Started by SansGroove, June 26, 2011, 02:42:24 AM

SansGroove

I am new to CAPTalk...  so please don't take this post as me griping or trolling - because am not.  I was just curious what kind of reactions other senior members get when coworkers, neighbors, friends...   find out you are involved in CAP?  Its seems as though many times when I bring up my CAP membership I get some odd looks.  I try to take the opportunity as a teaching one and show my enthusiasm for the organization.  I give a quick brief on the history and current mission of the CAP and talk about some of the great stuff that goes on in my state and nationwide.  There is still a percentage of folks that look at us as adults playing soldier when (as we all know) that is just not the case. 

I am a bit ashamed to say that there have been a couple of times I almost felt a bit embarrassed as those around me poked fun at the organization and my involvement.  Sure CAP does some things that make me roll my eyes from time to time but I know its worthwhile.  Heck - I even remember a time when I took my son to his first meeting that I looked  at some of the senior members wearing BDU's and AF styles uniforms complete with beer bellies...    :) At the time I placed them in the same stereotype I had of a Cub Scout leaders at the time.  So I am not upset at anyone for looking at us odd...  as I once kinda held the same misconception.  I also realize that any issues I have are mine to deal with.  This is such a great organization - I just wish the general public understood us better than what they do.

Am I the only one who has had these experiences?  Or are these mine and mine alone?

Best Wishes!
SG

The CyBorg is destroyed

Remember that, unfortunately, those "uninformed" include a good chunk of the United States Air Force who don't know anything about us.

I have gotten better treatment from Soldiers, Sailors, Marines and Coasties than from Airmen, especially the younger set.