Ethicality+Safety Vs. Regulations (Communications)

Started by AnonymousUser, February 15, 2018, 05:41:46 PM

AnonymousUser

Hiya!

I am writing this because I have some questions I am not comfortable bringing to my squadron ES/Comms Officer. Please note I have been in comms for 2 1/2 years and I am a fully certified MRO and Close to CUL, Dang ICS Courses!  :'( 

As a Cadet Communications Officer I watch over the equipment because almost all the time the senior comms officer is not there. Recently there was an incident and it really pissed me off and I want your opinions.

We had a storm not long ago and a window was left open, keep in mind our setup is configured so the antenna connects through a second story window through the roof, which the window is right next to the radio and power supply.

What I did was I unplugged the radio and disassembled it. Took it out of the power supply so that no one would use it due to Water Damage. The power supply also got wet through vents and the wiring on the back to connect it to the power supply has exposed wires.

I got chewed out by my squadron communications officer for this. It irritates me because it was completely unsafe for operation and I was doing this for Ethical matters and Safety Matters.

ALONGSIDE THAT...

I was informed by a CUL At the State Level to conduct a SWR test due to the radio powering itself down on local channels (I.E. TAC Channels), Now this senior member is denying all of it and throwing me under the bus for it.

Opinions on what should be done?

(Oh, Even better, The radio has 0 Surge Protection.  :) )

Thanks!

EMT-83

Cadet Communications Officer. The key word being cadet.

As a cadet, you are not responsible for anything. If something seems amiss, report it through the chain of command.

The "CUL at the State Level" is not within your chain of command, and shouldn't be asking you to do anything.