Differances between DR and SAR traing

Started by ammotrucker, September 14, 2007, 05:42:58 PM

ammotrucker

I am new to ES and would like to get other members ideas about how to plan a DR training mission as opposed to SAR.  SAR I understand.  It is DR that I lack much knowledge on.

Do you plan the same why? Do you stress differant points? Or do you just make minor adjustments from normal SAR training mission to justify the needs?
RG Little, Capt

floridacyclist

To start with, what disasters are you facing in your area and what might be your expected roles in any disaster?

Around here, the big ones are wildfire, hurricanes, and tornados.

Some of the activities that we train for include air and ground reconnaissance, shelter management, aerial evacuation route surveys, POD (Point of Distribution) operations, and shelter management. The last two are unique in that cadets can participate although of course they will need CAP adult supervision.

As far as training ideas, after General ES and basic GTM/L, MRO, CUL and Mission aircrew, I'd go with the ICS100, 200, and IS700 classes with ICS300 for anyone in a leadership role, Red Cross disaster curriculum and CERT. These are known courses that will get your foot in the door while you determine what the specific needs are in your area. They are just a start, but should buy you some time to figure things out.

Another option is to look at Mission Base requirements and the ICS. Around here, the EOC is always looking for good NIMS-compliant help and I'm working on having some of the older cadets ready.
Gene Floyd, Capt CAP
Wearer of many hats, master of none (but senior-rated in two)
www.tallahasseecap.org
www.rideforfatherhood.org

Eclipse

Minor adjustments from normal.

My advice would stem from the experience of the members.

If they are new to the ES program, stick to the book and work them through the CAP way.