Track Spacing Question???

Started by snakecharmer, March 01, 2010, 02:39:18 AM

snakecharmer

I'm pretty new to ES ... and this weekend I was working as a MSA during a SAREX.  I was sitting in on an aircrew briefing and they were getting ready to fly route search ... using 1 mile track spacing.  When I asked why 1 mile track spacing I was told only "It is always that way" .... Why 1 mile? Why not 2 miles or 1.5 miles or .5 miles?   :-\

RiverAux

There are of course a lot of alternatives, but through decades of experience 1 mile track spacing is a reasonable compromise that allows you to cover the most territory while still having a reasonable probability of detection.

Now, if you have a relatively small area where you know the target is, then you might want to go down to 0.5 miles. 

Of course, things are different in the mountains....

PHall

Quote from: snakecharmer on March 01, 2010, 02:39:18 AM
I'm pretty new to ES ... and this weekend I was working as a MSA during a SAREX.  I was sitting in on an aircrew briefing and they were getting ready to fly route search ... using 1 mile track spacing.  When I asked why 1 mile track spacing I was told only "It is always that way" .... Why 1 mile? Why not 2 miles or 1.5 miles or .5 miles?   :-\

Track spacing depends on a number of variables such as the aircraft's height above the ground, the amount of vegetation on the ground, visibility from the aircraft, type of terrain (i.e. flat or mountains or something in between) and the speed the aircraft is flying among other things.

RiverAux

I will say that if a unit has gotten in the habit of "always" doing 1 mile, they've gotten in a dangerous rut.  It may often be the best choice, but it shouldn't be automatic. 

heliodoc

In some areas and again it depends on where everyone is located

Here in the Midwest ....section lines are 1 mile squares...that was the rumors I always heard and it was easy to follow