Question about CFI checkride

Started by flyguy06, March 24, 2007, 08:16:20 PM

flyguy06

I am working on my CFI and I have a question. On the checkride, is the DE goig to have me do a lesson on a technical subject area or just a manuever? I ask because I have lesson planss for all the maneuvers. But the Technical subjsct areas are a little more difficult. How in depth will he want me to go? For example in Aeromedical factors. I know that there are four types of Hypoxia but if you hasked me to describe them in detail, I would have to look at my reference. Is this good or not?

I guess I am just asking how deep in the trees do Ineed to go?

JohnKachenmeister

I have no personal experience, being myself only a lowly private pilot, but I can tell you what others have told me.

The CFI checkride is the commercial pilot checkride, but flown from the right seat.  You will also have to talk the examiner through a landing.  He won't take an action until you tell him what to do.

I don't think anybody other than a doctor actually knows all four types of hypoxia enough to give instruction to others on it in any real detail.  The emphasis for a CFI should be on recognizing the symptoms early and avoiding the situation to begin with.

I hope I have not been too presumtuous in intruding myself into a discussion in which I am unqualified. 

I will now sit quietly with my hands folded respectfully.
Another former CAP officer

CFI_Ed

It depends on your examiner.  Talk to other CFI's who've flown with your DE as to what is normally expected.  All bets are off if you take a check with an FAA check airman though.

Ed
Ed Angala, Lt Col, CAP
Oklahoma Wing/DO

flyguy06

I amnot going with the FAA. My school sends its CFI candidates to a DE.

I am clear onteaching maneuvers. Its the technical subject areas that I am concerned about

flynd94