Must demonstrate ELT Search for CAPF 91?

Started by WT, May 04, 2009, 05:36:42 PM

WT

I am a Mission Check Pilot.  One issue I seem to encounter quite frequently.  When giving a checkride, various issues can cause a practice beacon to be unavailable.  When this happens, my decision is to suspend the checkride and reschedule a continuation of the checkride for a time when a practice beacon is available.  I feel that an ELT search is one item that needs to be demonstrated on a checkride.  I have recently gotten into some heated discussions with other Mission Check Pilots who feel that an ELT search is somthing that can be "discussed" rather than "demostrated" on the CAPF 91 checkride.  Anyway, I am wondering what the thoughts of other Mission Check Pilots are on this situation, and what is your general practice?  Thanks in advance for your responses!

bosshawk

I rarely try to do an ELT search on a 91 check ride.  I clearly understand your concern about a pilot knowing how to do one, but logistics often get in the way.  Unless you can insure that a practice beacon is available and that someone will activate it for you, I would suggest that you either delay the ride or simply discuss the techniques with the applicant.  To me, a pilot knowing how to run the CAP FM radio and the GPS are just as important, if not more so, than knowing all the details of chasing an ELT.
Paul M. Reed
Col, USA(ret)
Former CAP Lt Col
Wilson #2777

es_g0d

While many of my peers will claim that a practice beacon to demonstrate electronic search is absolutely mandatory, I take the slightly-less-staunch approach of, "It Depends."