Cadet Logistics Officer @ encampment

Started by CAPC/officer125, August 18, 2009, 02:56:40 AM

CAPC/officer125

I have been selected as the Logistics OIC at the 2009 KSWG Winter Encampment. Now, I have never done this before and I was wondering what I should expect and the like. What are some things that I need to be prepared for? I have looked at the job description and I know sort-of what I need to do, but I would like some input from others, especially those that have done this before.

Thank you,
C/Capt Priscilla Temaat
C/LtCol Priscilla (Pat) Temaat
Eaker #2228
Earhart #14523
KS-001- KSWG HQ staff
2012 Joint Dakota Cadet Leadership Encampment Cadet Commander

Nathan

Quote from: C/Command125 on August 18, 2009, 02:56:40 AM
I have been selected as the Logistics OIC at the 2009 KSWG Winter Encampment. Now, I have never done this before and I was wondering what I should expect and the like. What are some things that I need to be prepared for? I have looked at the job description and I know sort-of what I need to do, but I would like some input from others, especially those that have done this before.

Thank you,
C/Capt Priscilla Temaat

Haven't done that job before, but I've had people working for me who have done that job.

Like almost every support position that a cadet will hold, the type of work and level of involvement really differs from encampment to encampment. I kept my C/Logistics guy pretty busy when I was the C/CC of an encampment. It wasn't because I kept him solely on inventory, though. To be honest, when it comes to an encampment, MOST of the logistics work happens before and after the encampment, as least as far as a cadet will participate.

So the type of work I had my guy doing also involved things like:
1) refilling bathroom supplies
2) helping set up classrooms before activities
3) working with all instructors to ensure they were properly supplied
4) bringing extra water for the cadets to long-range activities