What can I do in CAP Comms?

Started by MilesDyson, August 29, 2011, 12:06:54 AM

MilesDyson

Hi -

I am new to CAP Comms. I am an amateur radio operator and have all sorts of HF and VHF gear available for use. I know a long time ago lots of Hams were involved in CAP, but that things have changed. Can I still participate in HF nets, etc, if I don't have a CAP issued radio? Can I use PC-ALE on the ALE nets? Are we doing anything with packet or digital comms? My squadron commander wants me to be involved in comms but I don't seem to be able to get basic answers to questions and I don't want to invest a lot of time trying to get my station setup for CAP if I find out that I can't use my stuff. Any guidance?

THanks

cap235629

If your equipment is NTIA compliant, then you can use it on CAP nets.  No on the PC-ALE.  We are using APCO P-25 digital modulation on our VHF radios.  There is no current plan in  the works for packet comms.

If you want to be a player in the CAP comm world please do not have an "If I can't use MY equipment, I won't play" type of attitude.

If you have any questions start with your squadron communications officer as most commanders knowledge of the program is limited to the "push this button to talk" level.  If there is not a comm officer at your unit, go to the group comm officer if your wing has a group structure and then to your wing DC.
Bill Hobbs, Major, CAP
Arkansas Certified Emergency Manager
Tabhair 'om póg, is Éireannach mé

MilesDyson

"If you want to be a player in the CAP comm world please do not have an "If I can't use MY equipment, I won't play" type of attitude."