Questions about technical ratings for Health Services Officer

Started by DonBartlett, February 01, 2020, 06:13:00 PM

DonBartlett

Greetings all,

I would like to inquire about some items related to the Professional Development requirements and regulations associated with being a Health Services Officer.

I have been assigned as my Squadron's Health Services Officer. I am currently a certified Washington State EMT, and am also an Assistant Fire Chief in my day-today life. As such, I was provided the opportunity for early rank to 2d Lt. upon approval based on CAPF35-5.

Currently, I am in the process of completing the requirements of Officer Level II. Part of that process includes becoming a minimum of a "Technician" in your specialty track field. In looking this up, there is no offical specialty track course for Track 220, Health Services Officer.

I did locate a proposed new curriculum/guide that is on the net, but I do not believe it is official as of yet.

Here it is:

https://www.gocivilairpatrol.com/media/cms/DO08_F_Effecitvely_Utilizing_Health_253ABB8278DDF.pdf

I believe at some point I read that the actual "Technician" rating was achieved by simply being the Health Services Officer and that additional levels such as Senior required you to be a paramedic, and a Master rating was a physician.

Essentially, my point or question is this: Do I qualify as having a "technician" rating (Pertaining to typical Professional Development requirements to become one of the three levels of mastery: Technician, Senior, Master- such as an Emergency Services Officer, or a Safety Officer, etc.) as an EMT and the Heath Services Officer?

I very much appreciate any inputs,and/or assistance with this topic.

Have a great day.

Eclipse

So from the get from you should understand that there really is no functional
Health Service Track in CAP.  Despite rhetoric and various pubs in draft, there simply isn't.