Main Menu

How long for rank

Started by drmustang66, August 18, 2011, 10:41:58 PM

drmustang66

I have been a SM member of CAP for 1 year. Three months ago I applied for the rank of Capt. I hold a PhD with 20 years as a university professor. The squadron commander sent the paperwork to group 10 weeks ago. So far no rank. How long does the process take? I am also a transport pilot for the unit.

arajca

What is the basis for the fast promotion?

spacecommand

Capt requires group/wing approval.  Depending on the politics of your wing, it can be fast or it can be slow. 

Also what is your position in your unit?
(for example are you a Health Services, Aerospace Education, Legal or Finance?)

If you are a pilot, are you a CFI/CFII or ATP ?

(CAPR 35-5 outlines appointments and promotions).

Just having a PhD or 20 years as a university professor doesn't help much in CAP if you taught Native American history (an example, not saying you do/did).

For example, we have a member who is a doctor in our unit, if he served as our Medical Officer he can be professionally appointed to Captain, however, he decided he wanted to do something else in the unit (totally unrelated to medical/health services), so he's going through the same grade promotion track as other members. 

drmustang66

CAP Regulation 50-17 and CAP 35-5.

SECTION E -PROFESSIONAL APPOINTMENTS AND PROMOTIONS

2) Captain. A professional educator who has served as a teacher, counselor, school administrator, college or university professor (full, associate or assistant) or other faculty member for a minimum of 5 years. The professional education service requirement is reduced from 5 years to 3 years for members with an earned masters degree.