CAP pilot questions

Started by hogfan, March 28, 2011, 06:00:23 AM

hogfan

Hi, I am very impressed with this website and I'm certain that I will use it over and over again.  Thanks in advance for your replies.

I am a new senior member in a new cadet squadron in Nacogdoches, Texas.  So for I am impressed with CAP.  My goal is to invest in the lives of local youth and thus far it has been a joy to do so.  I am also a private pilot with 57 hrs PIC, 55 hrs XC (>50 nm), and 94 hrs TT (dual and PIC).  I am seriously thinking about becoming a pilot in the CAP.  I would be driving about 60 miles to the nearest squadron with an airplane.

I have a few questions:

1.  Would I be able to be an active member in the cadet squadron that I'm currently in, but still be a pilot in another composite squadron elsewhere?  I didn't know if this was within CAP regs.

2.  With my low flight time, it seems that my only option presently is to become a normal CAP pilot, is this correct? 

3.  Can I use a CAP aircraft to build time toward becoming a transport pilot and then on to a mission pilot?

4.  During my time spent "building time" in the CAP aircraft (i.e. not flying missions), are there any costs that I would incur, such as rental fees, gas fees, etc, while using the CAP aircraft?  If so, what are the typical rental fees on CAP aircraft?

5.  If I want to pursue my instrument rating in a CAP aircraft, would I just pay for the instruction?

I'm sure there are other questions that I don't even know to ask at this point!  So any information that you can provide is appreciated. 

Thanks, Ryan

hogfan

Okay, did additional research and it is obvious that there are rental fees associated with the CAP aircraft.  What are the typical fees?  Also, I was told that since I was a captain on active duty, I would most likely be able to assume this rank as a CAP senior member....is this correct?

Respectfully,
Ryan

FW