Questions from prospective member

Started by Bashibazouk, August 24, 2009, 10:58:07 AM

Bashibazouk

Hi,

I'm not sure how to search my way out of this quandary, so please forgive my new guy questions.

I'm a mid-forties engineer, with a commercial license, AMEL, ASEL, and slightly over 1,000 hours.  I fly regularly as a towpilot for my soaring club, I'm working on my glider rating, and I fly my company's light twin (a Diamond DA42).  I don't need cheap or free flying time, in other words...I fly 5-10 hours per month already, for which I don't pay.

I am thinking of joining the CAP for the following reasons:

1) To give my flying more purpose.  I'd like to fly for the benefit of someone else.  Orientation rides, counterdrug, SAR, etc. would meet this desire.
2) To learn new skills.  In particular, learning how to use DF and hyperspectral equipment would be interesting.  I recognize these are usually not used by the Mission Pilot.

Given this background, here are some questions.  I must admit to a bit of "CAP-ophobia" based on complaints from a former member.  I'm hoping he was just an exception and that you guys can confirm that hope.

a) I live in Northern Virginia.  My closest squadrons are the Fairfax Composite Squadron (NATCAP Wing) and the Prince William Composite Squadron (VA Wing.)  Which is best suited to my purposes?

b) How can I find out which units have airplanes?

c) How long does it take to get Form 5 qualified in a C172?  I mean calendar time, not hours.  I have several hundred hours in type, so while I'm sure I'll have to brush up to meet the Form 5 standards, I'm pretty familiar with the airplane.  I also have 50+ hours behind the G1000, albeit in a different airplane

d) How long (again, calendar time) does it take for a typical pilot to become a Mission Pilot?

e) How many hours per year does the average CAP pilot fly in CAP airplanes?  This should include proficiency flying, training, o-rides, transport missions, etc.