Considering joining. Tell me the good, bad and ugly of the CAP

Started by aviator_josh, February 20, 2014, 07:02:09 AM

aviator_josh

I'm a retired firefighter/paramedic with a long history of service that is looking to give back to the community. I'm a private pilot/instrument student and also a light sport CFI. When I was a teen, I was a cadet in my local squadron with high hopes of going to the naval academy. Instead I fell in love with helping people (which I first realized from the CAP) and became a firefighter instead.  I was in an accident that left me with a significant back injury so unfortunately doing ground SAR is out of the question.  My strong suit now is flying so I'd like to contribute somehow with that. So here are my questions.  How does it work flying for the CAP. Do you get checked out and then you can "rent" the plane to train in?  I've heard it's terribly bureaucratic and that drives many people away.  How difficult is it to be able to fly?  I'm not only interested in SAR, I'd love to do intro flights for cadets or whatever missions there are.  I feel like I've come full circle and am back to my first passion of flying. The Civil Air Patrol was the catalyst to get me in emergency services, and I'd like to return and give back.  Tell me some good and bad stuff about CAP. 

mdickinson

Seems like CAP flying would be good for you because
  • You can give flights to cadets (orientation rides). Even though you don't have a CFI-A, you can use your CFI teaching skills to give the cadets basic intro to flying (turns, climbs, instruments, weather, etc.)