Main Menu

ES gear for a new guy

Started by Walkman, November 11, 2007, 04:35:53 AM

Walkman

Alrighty folks-

I just started Scanner training and will be working on GT training within a month or so. I know I need a 24hour survival bag for each, so I'm fishing for recommendations.

I'm just starting out, so I'm trying to start small, a little cheaper and with just the essentials for now. I'm a gadget freak, so I'm sure it won't be long before my wife starts rolling her eyes about my newest gizmo, though.  ;D

What's a decent bag I can to carry all this stuff in? Where to buy?

Basic "Go-Bag" contents (including good brands and where to buy?)

Thanks!

_

I always tell new guys to go cheep and simple to begin.  For a pack I tell them to look around to see if they have an old book bag.  If you can get your hands on an alice pack through a surplus store or Ebay you can use that for your 24 until you decide on a more permanent 24hr gear setup and then you can use the alice for your 72hr gear.  A trip to walmart should get you pretty much everything for in the pack pretty cheap.

Don't get an "ultralight" pack.  They are ultralight because they are made of lighter/less material that doesn't hold up to the wear and tear you'll put on it.

Trouble

Jon is right, Wal-mart is a great place for most of what you'll need. 

The GT/UDF Team handbook has the require equipment list, and since you are starting out you'll only need the items marked with a "T".  See if you can get a Medium Alice Pack from Supply, Ebay or Surplus Store. Ebay may be the best bet, I don't remember seeing any Surplus Stores the last time I was in Cache Valley (yes I keep my eyes peeled for those).  Depending on how committed you are already, you might also want to get a set of LC2 Webbing, or something similar, it usually is not too expensive and will do the job quite well.  If you find you are really into this stuff and have extra $$$ to burn, then you can look for higher speed. lower drag gear.