Main Menu

CAP Movies

Started by James Shaw, February 13, 2010, 01:18:14 PM

James Shaw

I am currently working on a project that involves taking all of the vintage CAP movies and putting them on one DVD to offer through the Historical Foundation. I am new to this kind of stuff and am looking for suggestions on a decent software package for video editing. My budget is low for the software $100 or less. This is not paid for by CAP but my project. This is what will be on the DVD so far.

The Civil Air Patrol Story (now on DVD)
Accent on Youth (now on DVD)
Always Vigilant (now on DVD)
Sky Sentinels (have to accquire)
News reel video clips from WWII and others. (have to accquire)
Music and vintage radio commercials (converted from 33 and 45 rpm's.)

Suggestions on the software would be great.
Jim Shaw
USN: 1987-1992
GANG: 1996-1998
CAP:2000 - SER-SO
USCGA:2019 - BC-TDI/National Safety Team
SGAUS: 2017 - MEMS Academy State Director (Iowa)

flyboy53

I know your question was about software, but how about a few other ones that I remember. Back in the 1960s, there was an Air Force 16 mm film from the AF Audiovisual Service that detailed a CAP search and rescue mission. I can't remember the title, something about A Night on some Messa. Also, there was a movie released about a decade ago called Solo Flight that featured the Utah Wing in the search of a student pilot. I also remember a episode from "This is Your Life" that detailed the resue of an Air Force pilot in Colorado and how a CAP pilot (chief warrent officer) landed  a PA-18 in extremely hazardous conditions to rescue the pilot who was trapped in the wreckage.

Spike

Go to the DVIDS website.  Call a clerk at the Audio Visual office and tell them what you are doing, they are most willing to asssit in historical activities!

I also recommend the old slideshows from 197-1985.  "The CAP Story (with music and the "non music" version).  "Senior Member Orientation" and "Cadet Program"