Main Menu

Senior Promotion Barriers

Started by Flymetothemoon, April 01, 2017, 06:32:48 AM

Flymetothemoon

I'm wondering, with the new promotion regulation for senior members, if CAP has too many volunteers and they are trying to have a back door RIF and anti-recruitment campaign.  For many people, attaining the higher grades by attending schools and conferences may be quite a financial and time constraint.  As a teacher, I can't take off a week to attend some of the schools at the times they are offered.  Additionally, traveling to these locations is very expensive.  There are no alternate choices such as correspondence courses.  Sure, I can understand that you should put something into it other than waiting out the calendar, but it shouldn't be limited to those with the finances and scheduling flexibility.  It's a ridiculous barrier they've implemented.

THRAWN

Quote from: Flymetothemoon on April 01, 2017, 06:32:48 AM
I'm wondering, with the new promotion regulation for senior members, if CAP has too many volunteers and they are trying to have a back door RIF and anti-recruitment campaign.  For many people, attaining the higher grades by attending schools and conferences may be quite a financial and time constraint.  As a teacher, I can't take off a week to attend some of the schools at the times they are offered.  Additionally, traveling to these locations is very expensive.  There are no alternate choices such as correspondence courses.  Sure, I can understand that you should put something into it other than waiting out the calendar, but it shouldn't be limited to those with the finances and scheduling flexibility.  It's a ridiculous barrier they've implemented.

It depends on what schools you are talking about. There are a number of distance learning alternatives to RSC and NSC.
Strup-"Belligerent....at times...."
AFRCC SMC 10-97
NSS ISC 05-00
USAF SOS 2000
USAF ACSC 2011
US NWC 2016
USMC CSCDEP 2023

Briank