Hawk Mountain for Senior Members

Started by chaser430, September 03, 2016, 04:49:52 PM

chaser430

Hello, I am fairly new to CAP, just getting my 2LT and I am going to be going to a set of SARex's in Sept and October to become certified as GTM. I am also the ES Officer and Medical Officer for my Squadron.

My question is this- How is Hawk mountain for Senior Members physically? What type of physicality is required of a senior member. I'm not a kid anymore, I'm almost 32 but in reasonably good shape.

I know Hawk Mountain is not a popular topic on here, I would just like some honest opinions and testimonies of those who went to see if its worth paying the 350.00 for?
I really want to do the Medic portion of it but I believe I can't do that till I am at least a Ranger 3rd class if I was reading it correctly.
Again I know not everyone likes Hawk Mountain but I would appreciate a little guidance and suggestions from you all- thanks  :)

dwb

I have only attended the winter school, which is a weekend and thus not all that hard.

The mountain is difficult terrain for anyone (it is mountainous, after all). If you're in reasonably good shape it will be tiring, but you'll be able to manage.

For ES quals, you should consider NESA instead of Hawk. My Hawk knowledge is very out of date, but there used to be a lot of focus on things you probably won't do very often on actual CAP ES missions.

Eclipse

Quote from: dwb on September 03, 2016, 06:05:06 PM
For ES quals, you should consider NESA instead of Hawk. My Hawk knowledge is very out of date, but there used to be a lot of focus on things you probably won't do very often on actual CAP ES missions.

+1

"That Others May Zoom"

sarmed1

www.capranger.org

Re: the physical stuff