Main Menu

What to expect?

Started by Rogue, June 29, 2008, 02:28:37 PM

Rogue

Hi all my name is Jeff, I'm a student pilot and obviously new here! I'll admit my reasons are selfish - I want to build time and experience, so that is the basis for my question. What to expect if I join the local composite squadron. I know they have weekly meetings but what happens at those meetings? If I join how would I progress? Do I start out in the back seat with a set of binoculars and move up to the right seat working the maps and eventually get some PIC time? I realize it probably has a lot to do with how many members are in the local squadron and how many missions they are given which is what I'm trying to get a feel for here. Do ya'll fly every day? weekend? or just when there is a need? Can I join before I have my Private liscense in hand and help out? thanks for suffering my newness, I appreciate ya'lls time. Oh and the local squadron for me would be http://eglincomposite.org/visitor/eglin/  . I have read about going through the orientation program and so forth so my question is more along the lines of how long do the steps take to progress through? and what would be a safe expectation of time committment? Thank ya'll for your time, Jeff

RiverAux

Your best bet is to go visit the squadron and talk to them about these issues.  To address some of them:
1.  You don't need to be a pilot to join.
2.  Opportunities for funded flying will be almost non-existent until you have 175 hours of PIC time.  Once you get your license and get qualified as a CAP pilot you can basically rent the CAP plane to build time, but you will have to pay for it. 
3.  Plenty of good stuff for you to be doing until you can become a mission pilot. 

AlphaSigOU