Air Force Reserve Technician (ART)

Started by Wildblueflyer, September 10, 2008, 09:29:01 PM

Wildblueflyer

Fellow CAP members:

Does anyone know the max age for Air Force Reserve Technician (ART) positions?  Google, the ART website, and CAP talk searches weren't clear.  It seems logical to me if you apply for a GS-15 position you should have some experience (Age) under your belt.  Also, does anyone know how/if the GS level translates to ART rank?

Thanks!  Inquiring minds want to know. 

Viper QA

Hello,

I'll try & answer some of your questions, but there are many "moving parts" to the explanation.

I am currently an Air Guard Technician, GS-11, Title 32 duel status. What that means is that I am in a compatible military position & must maintain that slot in order to keep my GS job. At one time I was also in WG-10 & WG-12 Title 32 duel status slots. The AF Reserve (ART) program works the same way.

The max age for an AGT or ART is 60. You cannot stay in the ANG or USAFR past 60 years old, therefore at 60 you would be released from the AGT or ART program. This is called discontinued service because in theory you could still work for the Federal government, just not in a Title 32 duel status slot. Your options would be to retire (if you meet the retirement criteria) or resign & try to find another Federal position. Non duel status Federal positions are Title 5.

Currently there are two different Federal retirement systems, CSRS & FERS.  CSRS is the "old system" & FERS is the "new system." Anyone hired after 1985 (I think) is a FERS employee. All you need to vest in the Federal retirement system is 5 years so in theory a person can be hired at age 55 for a Title 32 duel status slot then retire at age 60 with a small FERS pension. To get the most out of FERS takes 25-30 years, depending on your age, years of service, & buy back of any Title 10 (active duty) service.